The Proverbial Bucket List

imageby E.West
A friend of mine, who is in remission from cancer, has quoted the items on her bucket list.
She has also encouraged me to create a bucket list of all the projects I really want to do, goals to accomplish, people to meet, places to go, concerts to attend, causes to promote, etc. etc. So I had thought about it and have, in some cases, already enjoyed some trips prior to becoming the baby boomer who has turned 65 and retired from my career.
The bucket symbolizes a recognition that life doesn’t last forever, and whatever makes you happy, or whatever your dreams and desires are, make haste, go for it, don’t delay: eat, drink and be merry for tomorrow you maybe struck with an illness or die. Well, being head strong and accustomed to taking the initiative, I have planned far-flung destinations when school is “in”, never having had the opportunity to live in a hot climate for the month of January, for example.
What does God say about the bucket list? Whose money are we spending? Should we start today, while we have money, health, time, and our wits about us? God will give us the desires of our hearts; God said that in his presence are pleasures for evermore? Would that involve a stay cation and time to retreat and spend time with God alone?
So what about devising the bucket list? Jeremiah 29: 11,13 “For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord…..plans to give you a hope and a future…..You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Are you thinking that life is short? Will your bucket be full of joy in the Lord? Will you look at the list as something that God will bless? Are your plans self serving…..the rewards of years of hard work and sacrifice to put children through school or to pay off a house?
We all love adventure, but it is God who sees them come to pass. So while we may jot down our dreams on the “bucket list”, God is our guide and will see our ship’s travels as the hymn says: “I feel the winds of God today, Today, I my sail I set. “ Let him be the captain of the ship and see where He leads. Will it be a trip to help heal a nation, a trip to rediscover your commitment to Christ, a trip to deepen a friendship to enable you to share Christ, a trip to connect with family, or a passion that needs wings like stained glass, a musical instrument to play, a chance to bike in a new world, new culture? CharityNavigator.org, Reliefweb.int, GiveWell.org, World Vision and Médecins Sans Frontiers. There are countless organizations who need willing workers.
Commit your ways to the Lord. Allow God to open doors for you, to give you a future and a hope. Psalm 3:5,6

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Proverbial Bucket List

  1. liamac says:

    Thanks for this perspective, Nancy. As a Christian, I struggle with the idea of the bucket list. I don’t want to waste my life, but ultimately what matters most to me aren’t the things I’ve included on a list, but the work God gives me to do. Knowledge of what this means seems to unfold on a daily basis. My “task” is to create the space in my mundane existence so that I can respond to God’s revelations on an “as-revealed” basis. Happy 2015 to you and yours! Lianne

Leave a Reply

