From Tarnished to Gleaming Silver

imageby M.E.West
While looking for some jewellery to compliment my thrift store dress, I dug around, only to find how much of my so-called gold jewellery and my silver, had tarnished. It was time to either polish or pitch. Now I couldn’t pitch it……you never know when it will come in handy. Just like the engraved silver tray I received for a wedding present. I might use it some time.

God speaks to us about tarnished silver, about storing up gold and earthly treasures. Matthew 6:19-21 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasure in heaven where moth and rust do not destroy and thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

The Apostle Paul was preaching to the people of Laodicea. He went there so that they may! be encouraged in heart and united in love so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the full mystery of God, namely Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge. Colossians 2:2-3

Peter, speaking to a crippled beggar at the temple who was asking for money, replied in Acts 3:6 “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.” The beggar was instantly healed and walked to the temple courts.

So now that the jewellery has been transformed from the ugly tarnished silver to the clean and gleaming pieces I can wear, I am reminded of Peter’s words in 1 Peter 1: 17-19 “For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your forefathers, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.”

Treasures, old and new, tarnished or polished, remind me of the truths of Scripture. I will wear them with the knowledge that when the things of earth pass away, God’s love is eternal and is of more value than silver and gold.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.