Biking the Ottawa Trail

A Nutcase to keep one's nut encased while biking

A Nutcase to keep one’s nut encased while biking

by M.E. West

Biking the Ottawa Trail aka 401 hwy. What a beautiful day to hop on my “circus” bike * and ride the trail. Oh, “ life is a highway, I’m going to ride it all day long.” One doing tricks on the Ottawa bike trail, aka the 401, is not advisable. With caution, and precision I set out to enjoy new sights and sounds for at least two hours. One can cover more ground riding than walking…..it’s easier, faster, and cooler! I’ve adopted two rules: keep my mouth shut (bugs) and use the bell. Biking gets me out of the 650 sq. ft. apt. I join the throng of people of various sizes and shapes. Only the ones wearing spandex are predictably lean. They zoom along at “rush hour”, having stripped off their business suits to hop on the most expedient form of transportation—the bike. Biking affords a break from the bad habit of incessant television watching. The news can really unsettle the psyche. There are disasters all over the world. There are children killed, maimed and starving. There are horrendous crimes, explosions, floods and tornadoes. I leave that world and retreat to my own little corner of the planet. While riding, “This Is My Father’s World “ is a song that I sing out loud or hum softly to myself. It is a hymn that reminds me that even though “the wrong seems oft so strong, God is the ruler yet.” There is very little equipment required for biking. My helmet is covered with daisies. It says “Nutcase” on the front and “I love my brain” on the back. It is a necessity. The trail, aka 401, can be very treacherous depending on the time of day …..avoid 4:00-6:00. Mayhem if you encounter strollers, ducks, dogs, bikes and roller blades and of course, commuters. The helmet reminds me to put on the helmet of salvation. To call on the Saviour, the God who saved me. There is other equipment needed in this world: the belt of truth, the breastplate of righteousness, the sword of the Spirit which is the Word of God and the shield of faith. Ephesians 6: 16, 17. Riding my bike in the presence of God, in His creation, is pure joy. It is an exhilarating experience that brings a smile to my face. Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4 I keep my wits about me and enjoy the journey. No spandex for me.
*circus bike: a small collapsable bike lightweight, nine gears

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.