Memories and Visions: The Mind Matters

imageby M.E.West
Have you ever had an opportunity to smell a water lily? The scent conjures up many wonderful summer memories. While it is said, “stop and smell the roses”, it is not that easy to sniff a water lily. It is not something you can casually do.The other day, while walking in Andrew Hayden Park, I noticed so many water lilies. I just HAD to have one. So I gingerly went down to the edge of the pond and reached out to pull the flower from the long stem.
As I walked along I drank in the scent of that lovely white lily. I began to recall all of the lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer, when I went canoeing on Cameron Lake. I first discovered that the water lily was more than just a pretty flower in the water…….it has a delicate scent.
I recall wanting to share this unique scent with my mother. So one day I plucked one out of the cove for her. I placed the lily in a small crystal bowl of water on the kitchen table. The scent did not permeate throughout the room, but we could smell it up close and personal.

The memory of a loved one can come when we least expect it. The gift of a memory is a beautiful thing. However, we know that the mind can wander. Fantasy is dangerous. It takes us away from the present, to a world where everything can be distorted.

The Bible says: Be transformed by the renewing of your mind.
Love the Lord your God with all of your heart, your soul, your mind and your strength. If anything be lovely, if anything be pure, if anything be of good report think on these things.

There is no room for unfruitful, impure thoughts in the mind of the Christian. God says, that the young dream dreams and the old have visions— a vision of what one might do for the Lord in service to Him. Visions of what the body of believers can do for the needs in the community.

For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory. Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature. You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and put on the new self, which is renewed in the knowledge of the image of its Creator.
It all started with the scent of a water lily. God showed me that my mind, transformed by His Spirit, would be filled with His truth. He would bless me and meet my needs for love.
The hymn, Be Thou My Vision says:
High king of heaven my victory won.
May I reach heaven’s joys, O bright heavn’s Sun,
Heart of my own heart whatever befall
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.
Colossians 3:1-5!
“Since then you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.