Bambi

imageby M.E.West

Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Bambi? The warning lights on highway 138 were already flashing at 3:00 pm: Danger Deer Crossing. Well if it’s like this at 3:00 pm, what will it be like at 10:30 pm? On my way to Cornwall for a gospel concert: worry, and thoughts of sheer terror. The drive home will be perilous. Already anticipating danger, even yesterday, thinking that Saturday will be my last night. Well, it will be a very lively night at a gospel concert. What a way to usher in eternity. This drive reminds me of a night in northern British Columbia. I had seen the sun set and drove up the mountain range. By 11:00 pm there was a herd of moose walking along the side of the road. I slowed right down not yet approaching the campground at Muncho Lake. At the side of the mountain, the mountain sheep wandering around. None of the animals jumped in front of the van. I thanked God that I had made it safely and fell asleep in my van. How does one prepare for the end? Pray to overcome fear? God said “I have not given you a spirit of fear, but of love, power, and a sound mind.” “ Cast all your cares on Him for He cares for you.” ” For neither height nor depth nor things present nor things to come can separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus.” Romans 8:28. I went to the concert. The first half was a beautiful programme of spirituals, jazz, blues, and gospel songs, old and modern. I was truly inspired and encouraged with the messages of praise and faith. At intermission, I had an opportunity to greet the minister of the church I attend. I expressed my fear of the drive home on Bambi’s highway. He understood it was about the animals. After the encore number, the minister found me. He kindly introduced me to a couple he knows, who were also travelling on highway 138. He asked if I could follow them. They agreed. The drive is over. Home at last. What a gift of peace from God to have people, whom I had just met, in a car in front with super high beams, lighting my way through the dark countryside, where deer warning signs were visible. I realize that it is one thing to pray for courage, but also another to ask for help, indirectly. I would have driven that highway alone as I have other roads in the past. But it is alright to rely on someone else to help. Isn’t that what community is all about? To be a part of the body of Christ, is to reach out to ask for and receive support as well as to give it. What is there to fear, when God is ever present? He will meet my needs for strength and courage. He will shine a light into the darkness and guide people into my life to make it easier for me to cope with the challenges. So, Bambi is still a children’s story and I am still alive to trust and obey my heavenly Father who takes care of widows and orphans. He is faithful and understands my frailties. God intimately cares for each one of us in our daily lives.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.